Understatement

Civil
would be an understatement
for the relationship I have
with my daughter’s father.
I pretended as though he didn’t
exist.

Broken
would be an understatement
for the amount of promises
he had instilled in my expectations.
His words were nothing but
pollution.

Disappointment
would be an understatement
for the look in her eyes
when everyone else’s fathers were around.
Even with me by her side, I could still see
abandonment.

A wrath
would be an understatement
for the rage that I wanted him to feel
when he had the audacity to walk past
his daughter like she wasn’t his to
claim.

Pity
would be an understatement
for knowing what he is missing out on
when I look into my daughter’s eyes
and seeing a tiny human who is so
extraordinary.

Love
would be an overstatement
for the passion she provokes
when she speaks of the man
she has yet come to know and still he
denies.

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

